United States of Hypocrisy

with Greg Tyzzer

The American Way of Life

leave a comment »


Take a look at your grocery list. What kinds of foods do you have listed? Do you have things such as whole grain breads, fresh fruits and vegetables, and (if you’re not vegetarian) lean cuts of meat? If you live in the United States, chances are you don’t. In America, sugary, processed foods are much more affordable than their all-natural counterparts.

While I was shopping at my local supermarket, I thought I would take a look at how much of a difference there was between the foods I was buying and the foods I wanted to buy. What I discovered shocked me. A standard box of Fruit Loops (which would last about two weeks at my house) cost about $3; a 3-pound bag of apples (which would last about four days at my house) cost about $4. Think about that for a minute. I can be fed for two weeks by spending $3 or, I can eat a healthy alternative for the same amount of time and spend five times as much. Which is the logical choice for a struggling family?

And we wonder why America is getting fat.

Leave a comment below suggesting a plan of action that we as Americans can take to fix this health crisis.

Written by Greg

March 6, 2011 at 3:07 am

Leave a Reply

